Elections are nothing but a gamble of faith

By: Naledi Mokgele

Elections are nothing, but a gamble of faith we vote and hope for nothing but the best that right there is what I call faith. For the longest time I have been pondering on these questions, Why do people vote? Why must I vote? Is it really important? Will my vote really make a difference? I have been skeptical about voting all my life, trying to answer these questions has not been easy, but truth is voting really is important and yes, my vote can and will make a difference.

I guess my judgement has been clouded from seeing my parents take part in local and national elections and still complain about things like poor service delivery. They would talk about how after the elections the government forgets about the people and the promises they made to them. And the constant service delivery protests seemed to be a norm in the news (in our communities).  So because of all these failed promises I started to question the relevance and importance of elections.

I was so consumed by the negative opinions surrounding me and I overlooked the positive side of voting. At some point in my life growth had to happen and  I needed to stop being naive and do some self introspection and ask myself questions like, what if my vote really can make a difference? What if the South Africa I pray for, will only exists once I decide to take a stand and exercise my rights as a citizen?I pray for change and I complain, but what difference does it make if I don’t vote? 

I am born in to the generation of privileges, the generation that has rights and it is therefore my responsibility to exercise these rights in to enforcing change. `If I don’t vote who is going to bring that change? So I got a wake up call and saw the importance of elections, especially local elections. I had to snap out of my comfort zone and work torwardschange. Local elections are important, because they cater for the needs of an ordinary citizen, it is a platform created for ordinary citizens to have a voice in exercising their rights in bringing the change they believe in. We take part in local elections so we can elect a representative that will adhere to our needs. We vote with the hope for a better tomorrow and we entrust our local leaders to deliver outstanding service delivery. I have gambled with my faith, by voting for the first time in my life on the 3rd August 2016. I made my mark, I have seen the manifestos, it is now time to see them implemented. My faith says change is here.

If you intetrested in more articles related to the elections you can visit the following sites. http://www.capetalk.co.za/articles/15454/who-will-govern-the-western-cape-after-the-2016-local-government-elections , ewn.co.za/2016/08/06/maimane-describes-2016-local-elections-as-historic-moment-for-SA, www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-36997461, http://www.dailymaverick.co.za/article/2016-08-05-lge2016-results-anc-takes-battering-while-opposition-heads-for-coalition-talks/#V7loN5h97iu and http://www.swnewsmedia.com/lakeshore_weekly/news/local/election-races-talking-shape/article-98d5b87-4173-5816-aceb-67608bd69d51.hmml

 

 

Leave a Reply

