I am an African, daughter of the African soil. 

I hope you know that hair is every women’s rightful crown, so please don’t make me feel bad for being comfortable with my own hair. Don’t instil doubts in me, doubts that my hair is not good enough and even in 2016 there’s no room for my big afro.

I hope you know that… My hair is my pride, my hair is my identity, my hair is my human right, my knots are beautiful and my African hair is what makes me proud to be daughter of the African soil.

You teach me self-love, but why should I love myself with conditions? Why is my hair an issue? How does it disturb your peace? It took me a long time to accept my natural hair, to feel beautiful with my natural hair, I will not let anyone to tell me otherwise. I am not your expectations, I am the soul that lives within.

“At the turn of the century it is time for us to redefine who we be. You can shave it off like a South African beauty or get in on a lock like Bob Marley, you can rock it straight like Oprah Winfrey. If it is not what’s on your head, it’s what’s underneath and say hey hey I am not my hair” India Arie_I am not my hair

Black child you are beautiful don’t let them tell you otherwise.

#MyHairMyCrown

Leave a Reply

