Note to the girl in the mirror


  
By: Naledi Mokgele

Today you are going to wake up, fix your crown, look straight in to the mirror and tell that girl… That she is beautiful, worth it, and the world is her play ground. 

Today she will live her best life, she will forgive herself for her past mistakes and those who have done her wrong and she will move on with her life. 

Today you will remind that girl, that greatness lives within her, tell her she is been through hell and back, but she survived, because she is a soldier and she is not easily broken. 

Today you will tell her that, perfection is just an illusion, God loves her perfect imperfections, remind her to embrace those flaws, because they are beautiful. 

Today, you will love yourself, be happy and be unapologetic about it. 

Today, you are walking away from all the drama and negativity, 2017 is your year of self discovery, a year where you become selfish with your happiness, a year where you do you, they don’t have to like it, remember it is not about them, it is all about YOU! 

Today you are freeing yourself from the chains of this world.

Today you are not going to conform to the standards of society, live your life and shine, embrace that spark that lives within you. 

Today you rock that crown and try once again, don’t give up on yourself, but first breath, breath in the good air and breath out the bad air. 

Today I promise to love the girl in the mirror more, because she is a reflection of my soul, she never judges me, she is my biggest supporter and my only competition. She smiles back at me, when the world is ready to eat me up alive, she is the reason I have achieved all I have and the reason I am still hoping for better days and to reach grater heights. 

To the girl in the mirror, I love you and thank you for always being there when I felt alone, but most importantly I want you to know that i amdmire your strength. 

Leave a Reply

