State of drama and shame

I am still yet to digest the horror that was the State of the Nation Address 2017, I really can’t bring myself to taking anything Parliament related serious, but how can I, when our own president does not take us serious. All he did was grace us with his famous sarcastic laugh, he just could not be bothered, never mind the fact that we are in this mess, because of his poor leadership skills. 

The State of the Nation was all a big joke, it was a form of entertainment for those who are naive and don’t realise the mess we are swimming in or should I say drowning in? Our government invests so much of their precious time in getting the right outfit for the SONA red carpet event, then actually investing in the people of South Africa.

 The State of the Nation was just too much, everything was just wrong, I’m still trying to get the logic behind the armed police men in shields. Oh can we also talk about how insensitive madam speaker was? What is 30 seconds of a moment of silence, when we waited a whole hour, before the President could actually address the Nation, why was that even an issue? It was the government’s error, the least they could do was to show respect to the families of the deceased. 

Anyway I will not dwell much on that, I am just scared at the rate at which I am slowly, but surely losing faith in our government and it’s leaders, makes me wonder how many of our youth shares the same sentiments, what does that say about the future of our country? I pray amongst us as the youth, lies noble characters, that are selfless and are prepared to work day and night in fixing the mistakes of our current government. 

What pains me the most, is how even when valid points were made, it was still regarded as invalid, is this what democracy is all about? Is this really, what Tata fought hard for? For people to be forcefully  evicted and intimidated by “security protection unit” or whatever you want to call them, are we going to abuse power to best suit our needs? It’s fairness not a priority now? How free are we, when walking out of parliament is the only way certain parties can make a point?

 I am disappointed in the state of our country, 23 years in to democracy, I think we still not getting it right, we still don’t know what democracy means. Why were the mikes being switched off? Is it not my right as a citizen to hear what is being said in parliament? Why switch off someone’s mike, if they are making a valid point? Are we still dealing with issues of censorship even today? So many questions, but no one to answer.

I don’t condone the behaviour of other parties, but can we address the basics here? Maybe If rules were being followed, such uncalled for behaviour would have not prevailed. I am still yet to find my space in this rainbow nation, I am still yet to educate myself more on it, because everything I witnessed last night was nothing but a violation of Ubuntu. 

If it is the State of the Nation Address, we as the citizen expect to be made a priority, we expect parties to share a common goal regardless of their affiliations, we expect unity, we expect respect and human decency. They can not be screaming, fighting and swearing, like we are watching Wrestling, this is our time, it is bad enough the government is always failing us in delivering, addressing us really shouldn’t be an issue. 

The damage that is this country is beyond deep,  it is like sitting in a sinking ship and all you can do is watch it sink. I am hoping the State of the Nation address, was an eye opener to the citizen of South Africa, I hope you all realised that it’s up to us, to make wise decisions when electing our leaders, because truth is only us can save our country. 

Mtaka mma, don’t let the good fight of our legends go to waste, rise up mbokoto and fight the good fight. 

Leave a Reply

